History Unfolding

12 Feb

IMG_4650

HOLYYYYYYYYY S*@#!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just this morning Pope Benedict XVI announced his resignation due to “advanced age”! AND I’M RIGHT DOWN THE STREET! As much as I was shocked to hear this the minute I woke up this morning, I really didn’t understand the hype of the news until I read that the last Pope to resign was in 1415 (600 years ago)!! I was actually freaking out when I found out. Lots of “OMG”, “NO WAY”, “IS THIS REAL LIFE”s were flying through my apartment this morning.

This is terrible, but the minute I found out I immediately thought to myself, “Wow, I’m literally living out Eurotrip the movie.. except the Pope didn’t ‘die’.”

“We don’t need no water let the motherF*@!er burn!” :D

Pope Benedict is scheduled to resign at 8 P.M. on February 28th and luckily I’m in town that Thursday! I’m really shocked that he chose to announce this right before the beginning of Lent, but the Vatican spokesman said we will have a new Pope before Easter (which I will be here for too!) I feel bad being so excited about this because of the circumstances, but the Pope, 85, explained the reasoning of his resignation,

“Strength of mind and body are necessary, strength which in the last few months has deteriorated in me to the extent that I have had to recognize my incapacity to adequately fulfill the ministry entrusted to me.” – Pope Benedict XVI

(Source: The Telegraph)

(Source: The Telegraph)

It felt so cool knowing the big news before anyone at home was even awake (That’s the news reporter in me)! I even walked into Italian class at 1:30 pm and my Italian professor had NO IDEA! Meanwhile, all my young American classmates are gabbing about it.. oh the power of Twitter.

I thought there would be more press and commotion at the Vatican today, so a couple of us walked over between classes, but it was just like any average day. A bit disappointing, but I know as soon as the election starts and Easter approaches the chaos will arise. I’m really looking forward to seeing the election smoke from the Vatican.. the littlest things can amuse me.

I just can’t wrap my head around the fact that I’m Catholic from a Jesuit University studying in Rome and witnessing history being made.

With Ash Wednesday right around the corner, some words of faith from the Pope,

“We must trust in the mighty power of God’s mercy. We are all sinners, but His grace transforms us and makes us new.”

RSCN0696

Ciao!

2 Responses to “History Unfolding”

  1. Judy Cerone February 12, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    Marlo, you are one of the first cops on the scene. Love your reports. Loving you Nani judy

    • marlomarisie February 12, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

      Haha I’m trying! Thanks Nan! Love you too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

