Running on 2 days of no sleep

11 Jan

It started off like any ordinary day… and then just blew up in my face!

Bags were packed, to the max, which might explain why every muscle in my body aches like a mother right now.

IMG_3901

Of course none of my lazy family members help me haul the baggage through the airport. Standard. But the weird thing was that it still hadn’t hit me that I’m about to spend the next 4 months across the Atlantic.

20130111-100927.jpg

First, something amazing happened. As we were checking in my bags, aka where the entire day went to shit, I glanced up at my dad and sister standing further away and who was standing with them…MARK!!!!!!!!! For those who know who he is, he surprised me!!! I haven’t seen him in a month and didn’t think I would for the next 4 months, but it was the best surprise ever! And thankfully his presence kept the Marisie family unusually well behaved.

20130111-100946.jpg

20130111-100937.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to the dilemma, as we’re trying to send my bags straight through to Rome we’re notified that for my connecting flight in London, not only do I need to change planes, but I NEED TO CHANGE AIRPORTS! WTF PEOPLE! #1 rookie mistake on my part, make sure you’re arriving and leaving from the same damn place! I would have a less than 3 hour layover to go through customs, get my bags, find a cab, drive 40 minutes to the other airport, check in, check my bags, go through security, and find my gate – Yeah no. At this point my mom and I are crying at the ticket counter, overwhelmed by how AWESOME life is. My dad actually says, “So you’re driving back up to Milwaukee with Mark right now, right?”

Literally a minute before my plane from Chicago took off my dad calls to see how his little princess is dealing with this and all of a sudden in the background I hear my mom scream, start balling, and yelling, “OMG YOU DID IT? YOU GOT IT? THANK YOU. THANK YOU SO MUCH!” I actually got chills. My mom bought me a new flight so I wouldn’t need to transfer airports. Yup, she da bomb.

On the plane I met this awesome 23 year old German who is could be Seth Meyer’s twin. He didn’t let me sleep a wink the entire flight, but I didn’t mind. He gave me so much travel advice, like

  • In Amsterdam, hotels and hostels can be pricey and many people don’t know this but you can rent to stay on a house boat on the canal. How Epic?!?
  • A cheap backpacking tip: CouchSurfing.org is where people post to host for travelers to stay on their couch for free. Take the host out for dinner or drinks and it’s the most authentic and cheap way to travel. Safe? Ask Liam Neeson.

We also watched Pitch Perfect together (watched the Final performance scene 4 times). ACA-dorable!

I’m proud to say that I have the best 4 roommates! It’s been 1 day and I love em already! No Kimmy Jins.

563818_569578939735738_1957114830_n

They’re all from towns near me in Chicago and they’re  junior Tri Delts at Iowa University!

DSCN0019

Alex, Steph, Kathryn, Christine, & Me

Our apartment is so cute!! The weather is so refreshing compared to the frigid temps in the midwest, so we’ve had the windows open to amazing views of hilltops and the city. The birds are chirping right now and the gusts of the wind are so relaxing.

Here’s my quick apartment tour 😉

Last night when I arrived we went to this AMAZING restaurant Tony’s. You can tell that many previous study abroaders have recommended it because the place was packed with students! Everything from the risotto con scampi, to gnocchi pomodoro, to pizza looked incredible. I got the margarita pizza con proscuitto, to die for! I actually might be going again tonight with Marquette students! On the street coming home we walked past this group of Italian men and one legitimately took a whiff of me…well that’s one way to attract a girl..IMG_3904

IMG_3906

I think it’s time for me to take a nap. Everything’s still so surreal, but I already know I’m going to love this semester more than anything. Once again, thanks mom and dad. You guys are the shizzzz. LOVE YOU ALL!

Until next time, Ciao!

6 Responses to “Running on 2 days of no sleep”

  1. Rich January 11, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

    I highly recommend the Tagliatelle con porcini at Ai Bozzi Da Giovanni, Piazza Giuditta Tavani Arquati 106, Roma. If not on menu ask…wash down with a glass of white wine/Prosecco-Enjoy. My treat!!!!

    • marlomarisie January 11, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      Ughhhhh YUM! Ill let you know when I try, sounds so good!!!

  2. Judy Cerone January 11, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

    Dear Marlo, We are all enjoying your blog. Grandma Jean and me are amazed! Have fun
    And be safe. Again, stay away from those Italians! Love you, your Nani Judy

    • marlomarisie January 11, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      Thanks Nan!!! Ill try to keep you guys entertained! Love you!

  3. nina mariano January 11, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    Maaaaarrrrrr,

    Love this! Reminds me of when I was 21 and living in Rome. Listen to Nani Judy and stay away from those Italian hounds. Every word out of their mouth is a lie but it all sounds soooooo good! Anyway keep us posted with any and all updates. I await your musings on La Dolce Vita! xoxo, Neen

    • marlomarisie January 12, 2013 at 2:46 am #

      Ahh you were just in Rome! You need to let me know if there are places I need to go! Love ya Neen! Ciao bella! 🙂

Leave a Reply

