And we danced, and we cried, and we laughed, and had a really really really good time.

22 Jan

Okay, so we didn’t dance, but I MET MY COUSIN FOR THE FIRST TIME TODAY and we everything else!

First, a brief recap of my first 4 day weekend!

1. Allison and I explored, as always. This time: La Fontana di Trevi! I have a definite love/hate relationship with this spot. Love because when I was there 6 years ago, I threw a coin in, wished to return, and well.. obviously that came true! Hate because of all the damn Gypsies! No one exaggerates the stories they tell of these people. It just makes the experience uncomfortable when you’re grabbing onto your purse for dear life while all these men are running up to you, throwing things at you, and mumbling in your face, as they try to rob you!

DSCN0210

2. Befriended some pretty important people (aka bartenders and bar managers.) Meet Flavio: Bartender extraordinaire at good ol’ G Dee-Jay Bar. I’m also on a first name double cheek kiss basis with the manager of Sloppy Sam’s, Luigi. Saw him in the middle of Rome today and he came up to say hi.. I actually LOL’d after the fact..

Flavio

Flavio

3. Grant and I thought it’d be a great idea to steal a random’s vespa. When in Rome is the new YOLO, right? JK mom & dad, it didn’t leave the parking spot.

IMG_4119

4. We cooked our first feast and yes, Allison and I ate the entire thing all by ourselves! It’s in my genes.. thanks Big Rich.

Makeshift pizzas using tortillas!

Makeshift pizzas using tortillas!

Spaghetti Aglio Olio, Pesto chicken with lentils, and a Caprese salad (minus the basil)

Spaghetti Aglio Olio, Pesto chicken with lentils, and a Caprese salad (minus the basil)

5. Oh you remember hottie from Scholar’s who looks like a mix of actors? (I promise, in person he does). Never thought I’d here from him again, whoops thought wrong. So wrong.

I promise you that I asked him to cook for me..

I promise you that I asked him to cook for me..

6. Honestly thought I got mugged today. Strangest thing happened! So we went to French photographer Robert Doisneau’s exhibit for my photojournalism class. It was really inspiring and his photography is amazzzzinggg. But anyway, on the way back to campus we got on the tram. There was a woman holding a baby covered in a blanket and another teenage daughter who got on with us. I’m not even kidding they “unintentionally” cornered me against the back wall and were literally on top of me! My friends and I couldn’t stop laughing because it was just bizarre, but then it felt like my purse was being played with. I looked down and my purse was open! I immediately pushed away from them, but I still had my camera, phone, and thank God my wallet was in my pocket. I think the baby was just kicking it and it was open from when I pulled out my sunglasses, but CLOSE CALL!

mugged

7. BOOKED 2 MORE TRIPS! It was going to be a surprise, but I’m visiting my best friend in London this weekend for her birthday!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s about to get CRAY up in HUURR!!! I can’t tell if I’m more excited to see Ciara, or hot british men with accents (Kidding Kierzyyy)! Also just booked BUDAAAA! Aka Budapest: Thermal bathes, caving, Hungarian food, and Andy Steves (Hahaha Kurt’s man crush! and travel expert Rick Steves’ son). I died when I came across this requirement for the trip..

Picture 21

Can’t wait to travel around Europe with babushka man, Kurtle Wittmeyer.

IMG_4155

8. BEST OF ALL! I MET MY 4th COUSIN, CINZIA! Ah words can’t even explain how happy I am! Honestly, we did cry, laugh, and have a really really really good time. I met her at work, Hausmann & Co., an orologeria and gioielleria (watch and jewelry store) smack dab in the center of Rome right next to the Spanish Steps. Which if I may add, I never would have thought that a week into my stay I could navigate (BY FOOT!) 40 minutes to the center of Rome. It took me a second to recognize her because the last picture I saw of her she had longer hair and was it taken a couple years ago. We hugged, kissed, and just paused for a few seconds to look at each other. I find it so crazy that after 19 years of my life I’m finally meeting one of my relatives halfway across the world. She took me out to this adorable buffet lunch and was introducing me to everyone she knew! She only had an hour break to fly through years of our lives and learn as much as we could about each other. She is SO cool and easy to talk to, speaks perfect english except I kept catching myself answering in Italian or at least saying “Si!”. She went through the family tree, all the way back to our connection being that her Nonna was the sister of my great Nonna Concetta. She explained why my family is in the states and her’s is in Italy, and that’s when she started crying. The story of her Nonna and Nonno was the most romantic, heartbreaking, and unbelievable story I’ve ever heard and I got really emotional too. It is legit a story from an old romance movie, I wanted to die at all the sacrifices they made for each other!

I had the best time and she told me to pick a Sunday while I’m here and she can introduce me to the rest of her family! I’m so excited!! She showed me around and walked me down this amazing famous street called Via Margutta which was home to the famous Italian filmmaker Federico Fellini and is where parts of Roman Holiday (Audrey Hepburn) were filmed.

Rome

It was such an amazing afternoon and really meant the world to me.

Dad, Cinzia's helping me pick out a Rolex (for myself) send me some money!!!!! :)

Dad, Cinzia’s helping me pick out a Rolex (for myself) send me some money!!!!! 🙂

Well it’s back to the books for me…HAAA! Yeah right. Can’t wait to fly through class tomorrow, have our Prague family dinner, and then it’s off to the land of pints, pubs, pounds, and pretty sexy men!

Until next time, Ciao!!!

3 Responses to “And we danced, and we cried, and we laughed, and had a really really really good time.”

  1. Jill January 23, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    First, Marlo, so happy you met Cinzia. Make sure you take her up on Sunday dinner.
    Second,Marco’s text is hilarious ! And yes Carbonara is code for something else.
    Third, “fun and flexible”, doesn’t mean can you wrap you leg around you head! Andy Steves wants to make sure you can easily adjust to schedule changes. Dork!

    • marlomarisie January 23, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

      HAHAAHAH!!! Andy Steves knows whatsssuupppp! Kept my window open last night for some breeze, woke up and my entire desk (books, papers, wallet, etc.) was soaking wet from the rain.. WINNING!

  2. Juan January 24, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

    I’m with Jill on this one

    “you don’t want to taste my carbonara” OOOOKAY MAR

Leave a Reply

