Gucci Gucci, Louis Louis, Fendi Fendi, PRADA!

29 Jan

Before I left town this weekend I went exploring.. AGAIN! Surprise surprise.

This time : The Spanish Steps (heard a little boy at the top ask his mom why they were called Spanish if we are in Italy.. kid, I wish I could tell you)

The more I walk through this city the smaller it feels. I feel like Dora the Explorer and wanna yell, “Swiper no swiping!” to all the sketchy pickpocketers. But honestly, I have become such a great navigator so far. I even have Italians coming up to me asking for directions!!! SUCCESS! (Boom, put it in the hoop like Slam! – Emma)

Right when I walked down the street directly in front of the Spanish Steps, Via dei Condotti, I was overcome by feelings of happiness and misery. Happiness – because it’s like walking right down fashion heaven (Gucci, Fendi, Celine, Louis, Prada, Cartier, Bulgari, Dolce & Gabbana, and on). Misery – because I realize all I can do as a broke college student is walk straight on and window shop.. what a tease!

DSCN0243

DSCN0262

DSCN0263

DSCN0265

I was mainly here on a Photo assignment mission, but it turned into the perfect morning exploration.

DSCN0242

Palm trees in Rome? So confused

Palm trees in Rome? So confused.

I would kill for a balcony that walks out to the Spanish Steps

I would kill for a balcony that walks out to the Spanish Steps.

DSCN0247DSCN0255

On top of the world

On top of the world

The past couple days has made me realize that no matter how frustrating, annoying, and dumb asian tourists may be (not racist, just the truth) they are the most entertaining, laughable, and amusing group of people out there. Besides the common “peace sign” pose in front of every historical monument, I witnessed a group of about 20 asians who took a picture of everyone kissing their girlfriend or boyfriend together on the Spanish Steps. Unfortunately I wasn’t quick enough to capture the group picture, but here’s what I got..

DSCN0261

From here we walked over to take artsy pictures of the horse and carriages which turned out to be a hilarious mistake. I walked up to pet the horses and everything was fine and dandy. My friend Anna went next, she’s from the South so I just assumed she’d be some sort of horse whisperer or something.. yeah I thought wrong. The horse nearly ripped off Anna’s hand. FUNNIEST THING EVER. Thanks to my profesh photography skills I captured it on camera!

IMG_0329

anna

After myself and everyone around got a good laugh out of it, we thought we better leave before we stir up more trouble.

Next Blog Post : London!!!!!!

Hopefully I get to it sooner rather than later, but it’s 2 AM, I have class early in the morning and should probably get some sleep in before the weekend starts again… 2 days!

LOVE YOU ALL, CIAO!

2 Responses to “Gucci Gucci, Louis Louis, Fendi Fendi, PRADA!”

  1. Jill January 29, 2013 at 2:37 am #

    FYI The Spanish steps were built in the 1700 leading up to the residence of the Spanish Ambassador to the Vatican, in Piazza Spagna or the “Spanish Square” where the Spanish Embassy is located. Just saying..

  2. Judy Cerone February 3, 2013 at 4:49 am #

    Dearest “that girl”, you shot the best pic of your friend with the horse. Maybe he didn’t like
    Her scent. She probably does not have garlic or big Rich’s vinegar in her veins.
    Love you, your Nani Judy

Leave a Reply

