Pass the capr-EASY salad!

3 Feb

Before I left, Big Rich taught me a couple simple recipes for my time abroad, but I can only eat Spaghetti Aglio Olio so much. Thank God I’ve met a couple amazing groups of people that are willing to cook FOR ME!

#1: Prague Family – The name is pretty deceiving.. They all go to John Cabot, but we planned my first trip to PRAGUE together and the name just stuck. We have a “mom”, her name’s Victoria, and she is the ultimate chef! Watch out Big Rich!! Considering there’s about 10 of us and Victoria’s a vegetarian, she knows how to make us happy campers. Each week we pick a new main dish: Lasagna, Chicken Parm (hit Schroeder out of the park – Allison had 4 servings..), last week was stir fry (necessary pasta break), and next week is breakfast for dinner!!! Since I can’t really cook outside the box and Allison is a lost cause, we supply the caprese salad, wine, and elephant ears for dessert!!! The Prague family really enjoys our contribution… our other “fam” on the other hand wasn’t as appreciative 😉

First pan of lasagna!

First pan of lasagna!

Most Tuesday nights I can’t fall asleep because I’m up thinking about Wednesday dinner. #fatgirlprobz

Prague Fam gone Asian

Prague Fam gone Asian

You can never have enough vino!

You can never have enough vino!

wine

wineeee

Only requirement for joining a family dinner: Bring a 5L jar of wine! Or multiple.

winee

#2: MARQUETTE Fam – This past week we had our first dinner with the MU Crew! I’m so excited to go back to Marquette next year with all these new friends! Dinner was a combined effort, but Hunter (blue sweater) carried most of the weight. We had a really yummy fettuccine with bacon, peas, and chicken, bruschetta with white beans, and mine and Allison’s famous capr-EASY salad. Coined the name capr-EASY because we have yet to buy basil so we substitute lettuce. GEEZ! CRUCIFY US! I think we’ve decided on Mexican with Margaritas (or just tequila…) next dinner! With Free Wifi and vino, we all became SnapChat whores by the end of dinner and well.. that’s the end of Allison’s memory for the night!

WE ARE MARQUETTE

WE ARE MARQUETTE

mufamm

Well I just made a fatty omelette (tomatoes, onions, mozzarella, and prosciutto), so I’m going to go indulge and I’ll catch ya on the flip siiiiide!

omelete

Until next time, Ciao!!

3 Responses to “Pass the capr-EASY salad!”

  1. Judy Cerone February 10, 2013 at 2:19 am #

    Marlo, you will never,never forget this semester in Rome! Love it! Nani Judy

  2. plumb drainuk March 24, 2014 at 5:53 pm #

    Awesome blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lpst
    on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused
    .. Any ideas? Thanks!

    • marlomarisie May 26, 2015 at 11:27 pm #

      I’m sorry this has taken me so long! I hope you have found your way, but just in case here are my thoughts. Just go for it! I would suggest WordPress or Weebly or Wix, but if you have luck with a paid option then more power to ya! Other helpful tips that I have gathered: be visual – in your writing and display many pictures; incorporate humor or a personality to your writing; and think of your audience and try to write in a way that will best engage them. I also found that it was helpful to bold certain text in my posts. This was a way to help readers who are planning trips, and a way for me to go back and locate certain places I visited. Please let me know if you have other questions. Good luck and again I’m sorry for replying so late!

Leave a Reply

