Hopelessly Romantic

4 Feb

The exploring continues..

We had a pretty busy weekend here in Rome and it starts with a hike up to the Borghese Gardens on Thursday. This time it wasn’t just Allison and I, we recruited Kurt and Seamus (another Golden Eagle) to adventure with us! First stop: a slice of pizza! Kurt showed us this yummy place right up the street where we can get a huge slice for 2 E, so I got one with tomatoes and red chili flakes!

pizza trast

We met up with Seamus and had to take the boys to the Pantheon because they hadn’t been there yet. What have they been doing?! They’ve been here almost a month! Well I guess Seamus has an excuse since he had to deal with a schizophrenic roommate who almost tried to kill him for the past three weeks.. after that pit stop we had to take them to Giolitti’s because they hadn’t been there either! Ridic, I know! These boys need to get out from under their rocks.

Mmm pistachio and chocolate hazelnut gelato

Mmm pistachio and chocolate hazelnut gelato

From there we aimlessly walked, following signs towards Piazza Navona until the signs stopped but we didn’t hit Piazza Navona.. weird. I know it’s nice to sometimes make a plan of where you’re going and follow it, but my biggest advice so far is to just walk with no direction and you’ll eventually stumble upon something great.

IMG_4373

Judd Nelson-ing the hell out of this exploration!

Judd Nelson-ing the hell out of this exploration!

candid

65 and sunny in February - Take that Chillwaukee!

65 and sunny in February – Take that Chillwaukee!

After a while we crossed back over the Tiber, which by the way has gone down immensely and you can see the walking path and more graffiti that the water had previously covered. We walked straight down through Via del Corso to the Spanish Steps. It was absolutely packed because of the amazing weather; couples kissing on the steps, soakin up the rays, being all cute and romantic..

IMG_4381

IMG_4387

After daydreaming on the Spanish Steps (which I’m a pro at if you don’t already know), we continued walking north! If I ever become rich I’m staying at the hotel right on the top of the steps! And if at the end of the semester I have more than 2 euro cents to my name I’m grabbing a cappuccino at the rooftop cafe overlooking La Piazza del Spagna.

Next: Villa Borghese Gardens

We took a road lined with orange trees up to the entrance of the gardens. This place is MASSIVE! There’s so many paths you can walk down and so much to do! Of course the minute we walk in I spy couples laying on the grass, probably having picnics, living out my romance dreams. DISCLAIMER: This place made me realize how much of a Hopeless Romantic I am and it actually makes me sick!!!! There are bikes to rent, paddleboats on a little pond (Notebook style!), horse and buggy rides, a dog park, museums, a zoo, and so much more. ROMANCE CENTRAL, if you ask me! Fingers crossed with Valentines Day coming up..

Orange trees!

Orange trees!

IMG_4397

IMG_4412

IMG_4398

IMG_4406

IMG_4405

Hopelessly hoping to go back again soon… but it will most likely be with Allison..

It was a long, long day but it concluded with a beautiful view from Ponte Garibaldi and some yummy pizza and wine on the patio at Carlo Menta.

IMG_4408

Pizza Capriciossa: prosciutto, hard boiled egg, & mushroom

Pizza Capriciossa: prosciutto, hard boiled egg, & mushroom

The next night we spontaneously went to the Roma vs. Cagliari partita di calcio! 😉 Stadio Olimpico is just a short 20 minute ride north and tickets for girls were only 11 euro, 5 euro cheaper than guys.. winning! I don’t think I mentally prepared myself enough before hand for the chaos that is Roma fans! It was the craziest environment and made me miss MUBB games a little bit. No matter where you’re sitting, the people around you make the experience what it is.

IMG_4428

IMG_4429

I’ve never heard the world “Vaffanculo” so many times in my life and I was enjoying every minute of it! (Look it up if you don’t know what I’m saying). We sat behind a group of guys who were constantly lightin up joints with the security guards right next to them, I’m tellin you, the atmosphere was unreal. Roma’s goalie was a mess and you could tell that none of the fans wanted to put up with him, they were quick to boo and swear at him for every goal he missed. When Totti scored a goal you would think they had won the world cup, and it looked similar to this:

IMG_4438

Saturday Allison and I had a girls day! Although we should be getting pedicures because walking so much has destroyed our feet.. we chose pastries and shopping instead! We started our morning at the open air market in Campo de’ Fiori (blog post about that coming soon!) and then headed towards the city center. As we approached my favorite little bakery – I’ve posted about before (with absinthe and yummy pastries – we got a whiff of warm croissants, powdered sugar, and buttery cookies. So obviously we had to go in and try something new: Una mezzaluna gigante con nutella e crema.

IMG_4453

IMG_4455

Our shopping addiction led us to Brandy Melville, which if I had an endless cash flow I’d buy the whole store! I’M OBSESSED. They need to stop holding out on us and open one in Chicago! Unfortunately I really need to watch my budget, so I bought a cute headband that ties on the top of my head, a homeless gray beanie, and we got matching gold necklaces! As soon as we left it started pouring, so we “coincidentally” dipped into Zara to find cover. Another obsession. Here we got matching burgundy beanies. Killin it!

IMG_4456

We still had an hour to kill before the start of Carnevale Romano, so we crossed the street into a church to hang out. Yes, that’s what the cool kids do here.. hang out in churches. If I was homeless in Rome, I would totally take advantage of the churches.. who would stop me?! After we sat in a pew contemplating and reevaluating our lives for a while it was time to head to the parade. There were people everywhere lined up along Via del Corso. Live music, people dressed in costumes, and lots and lots of rain!

DSCN0541

DSCN0543

Although the huge festivities happen in Venice, I’m so happy I didn’t go this weekend because all I’ve heard was that it poured, was cold and miserable. We were soaking wet too, but at least we didn’t pay for it! The parade was really cool to see, it smelled like horse poop but I’m glad we stuck it out.

DSCN0551

DSCN0560

Check out more : http://gifboom.com/x/4d105687

We ended the weekend by making and devouring a huge pizza.. there’s nothing we can’t make.. or eat.

Jealous? http://gifboom.com/x/d460b4fc

Back to school for 3 days, then weekend again! Wahooo!!!

Until next time, Ciao!

One Response to “Hopelessly Romantic”

  1. Juan February 4, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

    these boys that you’re finding/spending time with are just to die for #yum

Leave a Reply

