Where beer is cheaper than water – Prague, Czech Republic

26 Feb

Sorry that I’ve been MIA for the past couple of weeks, I’ve been too busy CZECHIN out the world! (& the cheesy puns begin).

PRAGUE HERE I COME!

PRAGUE HERE I COME!

Two weekends ago I went to Prague with a group of 7 and let me tell you.. we had the most amazing time ever. I fell in love with the city, the life, and the beer! It’s literally Disney World ON CRACK!

Old Town Square

Old Town Square

DSCN0762I was named group navigator from the minute we left campus. Over the weekend I had good and bad moments as navigator.. And they started when we landed in Prague. We took Czech Airlines and it rocked!! We got free unlimited drank, my first alcoholic drink on a plane.. yeah I felt pretty cool. Anyway, we landed and I led the crew to the bus stop where we got on and took it to the end of the line. Convo on the bus consisted entirely of drunken ass tatt plans (Which we never went through with). At this point I was feeling really confident with my nav guide skills.. spoke too soon. From the bus we got on the metro. Everyone in the station was just walking straight on and I saw no one getting tickets so I just assumed we could do the same thing.. Whoops.. 30 seconds after getting on, 2 big burly ticket checkers bust us. Well there goes 500/1500 Czech Crown I took out ($30). Getting off the metro we walk straight out to this..

Wenceslas Square

Wenceslas Square

Our hostel was located right off Wenceslas Square which meant we had to play “Old King Wenceslas” every morning when we woke up.. The location couldn’t have been more ideal!!! It was cheap, clean, perfectly located, and we got unlimited oranges.. which by the way are 100x better in Europe than America! By the time we got settled it was 10PM, so duh we went out! First we got dinner at Bageterie Boulevard, a little sub place but OMG GO HERE! We ate here twice because it’s just so so delish! I can taste the roasted chicken, onion, and blue cheese right now.. ughhhh.

Next stop: CZECH BEER! We went to two awesome places. CZECH IT: Beer everywhere in Prague is $1 for .5L! The first was Tlusta Koala where we were entertained by a table of sloshed older European men singing all night. The second was the Prague Beer Museum which was packed with Europeans our age in a giant mass of smoke. I tried cherry and blueberry beer, phenom!

Could we get more lesbo?

Could we get more lesbo?

Staropramen

Staropramen

First night with the fam!

First night with the fam!

beerr

That night was the start of a few very amusing nights in Hostel Orange. Not only did the boys have major gas issues and were not ashamed at all, but we were kept up all night by Luke’s incredibly loud and unpleasant teeth grinding! Every couple minutes we’d hear “click click click click click”.. it was always the same amount and came in intervals of about 5 minutes.. all night.. Made for some pretty entertaining conversations in the morning though. Every morning started with Allison laying in bed “Reed.. would you hand me a cookie?” and then we were off! (Our 8 other roommates weren’t too fond of us)

Day 1: We walked to Old Town Square which was alive with street musicians, patio restaurants, food cart vendors, and massive bubble blowers (Bubbles the size of small children). Huge groups surrounded the Astronomical Clock at any time of the day, especially when the clock strikes each hour and little puppets pop out of the windows!

521558_10151528486077704_393154399_n

DSCN0866

267837_4392081612591_1615291313_n

DSCN0765

Our first breakfast stop was for these awesome Czech desserts called Trdelnik, “Turtleneck”, which are fried dough with crushed almonds and sugar!

48111_10151528501062704_96436067_n

DSCN0771

Next stop: Bohemian Bagel. GOD do I miss my Marquette Brew bagels (As if I need more carbs in my Italian diet). Go if you miss American breakfast!! Standing in line I randomly found my best friend Emma’s cousin, Anna!!!! We immediately adopted her into the Fam and she spent the rest of the weekend with us!!!

bb

Probably one of the coolest places we went was the Lennon Wall. John Lennon that is, not to be mistaken for Vladimir Lenin. It started when Lennon was murdered in 1980 and he became a pacifist hero to the Czech youth who started writing down his lyrics of freedom which was something they lacked. We looked like monkeys, everyone was crawling over each other trying to read the wall and make their mark.

lennon

lennonn

lennonnn

From left to right: Anna, Me, Reed, Madison, Luke, Allison, Brad, Victoria

From left to right: Anna, Me, Reed, Madison, Luke, Allison, Brad, Victoria

The next adventure was the most hilarious thing I’ve ever witnessed!! We walked up Petrin Hill to get a real cool view of the city. We really didn’t think it through because the entire path and stairs were snowed over and icy.. prime conditions for the ultimate WIPEOUT! It took us forever to skate up the hill, holding onto the railing for dear life. At one point I needed to go down on all fours and grip the ground in front of me to pull myself up. Everyone was sliding backwards and SOMEHOW I didn’t pee my pants from laughter.

View from the top

View from halfway up

The way down was EVEN WORSE! Everyone except Anna and I somehow frolicked down the icy road with ease.. we were a mess. We pretty much sled down the hill on our butts because there was zero traction. The more we laughed the more we fell and the longer it took us to get down 😀

hill

We had lunch up at the Monastery on the hill. It looked like an old mead hall inside and it was here that I got my first taste of goulash.. I was not disappointed!

DSCN0853

DSCN0839

DSCN0842

That night we wanted to try out this well known bar, Beer Factory, but the wait for a table was so long that people were actually camping outside with pillows and blankets. Alcoholics much? Instead we found this awesome little bar called Apetit with the same self-serve beer tap at every table! We guzzled down 20 Liters of beer.. and for proof that beer is cheaper than water I took a pic of the menu. .25 L of water was 30 crowns while .25 L of beer was 18 crowns. Lets just say by the end of the trip I couldn’t remember the last time I drank water.. whoops.

tap

tapp

Bonaqua=Water

Bonaqua=Water

The night was still young. Anna and I hit up Lucerna right next door which is a huge 80s and 90s night club! As we walked in Michael Jackson was playing, we grabbed a shot of absinthe (when in Prague?), and took it to the dance floor for some Lionel and Madonna.

lucerna

The night ended with the best late night food Czech has to offer: Fried Cheese. NOM NOM NOM!

fried cheese

After another entertaining night of teeth grinding, we were craving American breakfast. Right past Old Town Square is a James Dean Diner where the waitresses are all dressed up in little diner outfits and the milkshakes are heavenly (the boys were kept quite entertained with our waitress). Coolest bathrooms evaaaaaa, didn’t help that I’m IN LOVE with James Dean.

535595_10151528488832704_1127156778_n

DSCN0863

DSCN0865

dean

Our huge Saturday plan was to take a 2-3 hour long FREE walking tour to hit every sight we could, but after waiting around for the tour guide we got impatient (typical) and decided to guide ourselves! “In Marlo we trust!” It wasn’t a bad hike up to the Prague Castle – Thank God for iPhone maps. We explored the inside of the castle walls, shot bow and arrows (Luke failed epically and completely missed the target all 3 times), and rubbed the golden penis for good luck.. a very awkward task.

castle

DSCN0914

View of Prague from the top

View of Prague from the top

560294_10151527766473453_974014910_n

DSCN0934

After walking for so long, all one needs is some $1 beer. Am I right? Up the hill towards the Monastery there’s a Beer Cellar with probably the cheapest beer in town. We stayed for a while because it took so long to defrost.. and the beer was ughhh so good. There was a fireplace and we sat at a picnic table with fur seat cushions, I could have stayed all night until I got hungry.

17007_10151528512947704_1490396248_n

beercellar

DSCN0947

Now we were all craving goulash in a bread bowl, wadddddup Panera! We searched high and low (literally up and down the hill) until we found a place that had it! We got our own private room along with the coolest waiter ever. One of the guys thought it’d be a great idea to sneak in a bottle of vodka and pour himself glasses under the table after we all warned him not to. Bobby, the waiter, finally saw, picked up the glass, and downed it! As if it was water! From then on he was our best friend. He brought us brandy chocolates and tried to remember all of our names. I was “Marlon” for a while, but anything beats “Mario.”

DSCN0949

DSCN0953

BOBBY!

BOBBY!

As for our last night in Prague.. we had to go out with a bang! A Prague native took us out to a local bar deep into an alley where we hung out for a while, but as people started getting sleepy Anna and I were not having it! “This is our last night in Prague, we’re not going to bed we need to do something crazy!” So we did (well 4 out of the 10). We went to a strip club right off Wenceslas Square called Carocia. $5 for entrance, a beer and quite the experience. I paid for a lapdance. Just kidding. But I DID get up on stage so everyone could CZECH me out.. “PRAHAhaha”

Okay I’m done. Phew. Overall it was a trip I will never forget!

Also, if you ever make it out there, don’t forget to try mulled wine, hit up a cabaret, and go for a thai pedicure – wish I went, but they’re all over the place and hundreds of little minnows eat the dead skin off your feet. Great keepsake idea: Collect a coaster from every bar you go to in Europe, I picked up a ton of cool ones from Prague!

I can’t remember the last time I laughed so hard and I owe it all to the group. If you get the chance, CZECH out Prague and I promise you won’t be disappointed.

6719_4392078492513_1147348631_n

Budapest post coming once I make it through midterms!

Ciao!

7 Responses to “Where beer is cheaper than water – Prague, Czech Republic”

  1. A Stephanie Abroad December 12, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    Hey, I’m heading to Prague as a solo traveler soon, any thoughts on the safety levels of the city? Grateful for all the tips you’ve gave in this!!!

    • marlomarisie December 12, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

      Glad I can help! You’re going to love Prague! I never felt unsafe in Prague, and that’s not because I was with a small group, but because everyone was so friendly and there were always groups of families on the streets no matter what time of day. The city has a fairy tale feel to it, a sense of innocence. Just take the same safety precautions you would in any big city and you will be golden! Take it all in and enjoy! Let me know if you have any other specific questions! Safe travels!

  2. rory May 25, 2015 at 11:48 pm #

    Great Reporting! My wife are leaving on Wednesday for 8 days in Prague. What are the five things absolutely not to miss.
    ThxRory

    • marlomarisie May 26, 2015 at 11:21 pm #

      Hi Rory!! Thanks for viewing my blog! 1. Prague Castle – you could spend a couple hours exploring the castle and museums on top of the hill. Besides the beauty and history, it’s also a great aerial view of Prague and the red roofs. Petrin Tower (Prague’s Eiffel Tower) is also a great walk and view!! 2. Fried cheese sandwich – there’s a stand in Wenceslas Square that is open at all hours of the night. It’s a must and even Anthony Bourdain made a stop there. 3. Prague Beer Museum – so many interesting people and a binder of incredible beer. It was a fun atmosphere and a great place to taste test the country’s famous beer. 4. Lennon Wall – A few months ago someone painted the Lennon Wall white, but it has already acquired tons of new art. I can imagine it would be really entertaining in the summer and populated by many street musicians. 5. Try Trdelnik and mulled wine in Old Town Square and stay to watch the Astronomical Clock strike a new hour, it’s quite a show!

      Get lost and enjoy yourselves! Hope you have an incredible trip!

      Thanks again!
      – Marlo

  3. JohnnyB August 11, 2015 at 6:11 pm #

    I just got back from Prague myself. I had a similar experience as yours with one exception: I went during a major heatwave. But it was made bearable because every few feet, there was a place to get a cold beer. My wife didn’t approve of my constant drinking but how can she argue when beer really is cheaper than water or soda and it’s 92 degrees outside? Also cheap was the hot dogs -and it’s nothing like crappy hot dogs you find in the US. Between all the hot dogs I ate and beer I drank, I put on a few pounds in just a matter of a couple of days. I also went to Vienna which also had beer and sausages in great quantities -but at twice or three times the price! I’m definitely going back to Prague.

    And you hit it right on the nail: this place IS Disney World (Epcot Center) on crack. It is so beautiful and fairy-tale-like that the place seems fake. But it’s not! And you can’t find $1 beer at Disney World. The only complaint I have about Prague (and pretty much whole of Europe) is that there is graffiti everywhere.

    PS: The Budweiser in Prague is made by a different company than the Budweiser in US. It’s better, stronger and, to reiterate, much, much cheaper. Drink it as often as you can while you are here cause you can’t find it in the US (and if you do, it’s expensive).

    • marlomarisie August 11, 2015 at 7:55 pm #

      Glad you two enjoyed yourselves! And traveling throughout Europe (or anywhere for that matter) is all about putting on a few pounds! I remember I had one hot dog, with a side of fried cheese, and it is definitely more comparable to a juicy Wisconsin brat than a tiny American hot dog. Thanks for the tip about the Budweiser! I’ll definitely have to indulge the next time I make it out there.

      Thanks for visiting my site!
      -Marlo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Prague – A Weekend In The Czech Capital! - January 13, 2014

    […] of rock bottom prices, Prague is known for its cheap beer – but what you pay certainly doesn’t reflect on the quality of the ale! The Czechs make some of […]

Leave a Reply

