Buona Pasqua da Roma!

31 Mar

Happy Easter everyone!!

DSCN2057

The Easter bunny was incredibly generous this holiday bringing me to St. Peter’s Square to celebrate Easter with our new Pope Francis and an estimated 250,000 other Catholics!

mass

Photo Credit: Emma Petit

Photo Credit: Emma Petit

Obviously I miss coloring eggs, our annual Easter egg hunt (that I’ll never grow out of), and my aunt’s famous jello eggs, but I think this Easter took the cake! Which reminds me.. I’m missing “Lamb Cake” too. Wahh 😥

We were up (way too) bright and early this morning to make sure we were right up close to the Vatican. From 7:30-10:15 we stood around, twiddled our thumbs, I may or may not have shamelessly flipped through a Cosmo magazine in the middle of the jam packed Square, and our friend Tom fell asleep standing up.. Classic “Rat Race” move.

DSCN2017

Bells were sounding and festive music blared throughout the Square until Pope Francis came out! Mass lasted a long 2 hours and I probably understood 5% of it; the English and whatever Italian and Spanish I could pick up. I was waiting for him to break out with a little, “I love it when you call me Big Papa, throw your hands in the air if you a true player,” but he pretty much stuck with the program.

DSCN2028

DSCN2054

It was so weird not exchanging the sign of peace with my family, but my friends made up for it! Allison and I smooched on the cheeks and then we exchanged peace with a nun, a first for me! I didn’t expect to get communion because of the insane amount of people, but turned out we did. At the end, the Pope sped around the entire square in his Pope Mobile. Everyone was going crazy, waving, and cheering and the little man was waving back as he zoomed up and down the aisles. He stopped along the way to kiss babies and the one that moved many people was the young severely disabled boy that Pope Francis passionately embraced and kissed.

DSCN2034

DSCN2041

This Easter was definitely a change of pace and scenery for me, but I was so blessed to be a part of it. After Skyping my family (and their new Jamaican friends Ruben and Latoya..) as they enjoy an Easter getaway on the magical island of Jamaica, I’m very grateful to have such a great group of old and new friends with whom I can share this holiday away from my family!

DSCN2062

Until next time,

Buona Pasqua! Ciao!

3 Responses to “Buona Pasqua da Roma!”

  1. Jose Teigeiro March 31, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    Love all the fabulous pictures :))

    Jose D Teigeiro Specialty Products Inc 414.412.8794 cell 414.425.6225 office

    Sent by iPhone

    • marlomarisie April 1, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

      Thanks Jose! Wait till you see my Spain pics! They’ll be posted soon!

  2. Juan Boduch April 2, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    I’m obsessed with you and this blog.

Leave a Reply

